Class Notes and Obits

January 30th, 2014 Posted in Class notes/In memoriam

Clifford “Cliff” Mears (A/S ’76) was recently elected as City Councilman-at-Large in Mansfield, Ohio for a four-year term. He also works a full-time job in pricing administration for Skybox Packaging in Mansfield. Mears serves on the board of trustees and as business manager of the Mansfield Playhouse, the local community theatre. In August 2013, he celebrated his 33rd wedding anniversary to Cheryl (Perz) (Ed ’79).

PriceWeddingPic Keith J. Price (Univ Coll ’82) and his wife, Penny (Dinges), were the first couple ever married on Centennial Mall. In May of 1981, they tied the knot on the Mall near Edison Fountain. The campus minister officiated the ceremony. They have been married 32 years.
Dr. David Mruzek (Ed ’83) is associate professor of music and director of instrumental music activities at Hanover College in southern Indiana. His music education degree from the University has helped to lead him to two advanced degrees. Mruzek is a composer of original works for concert band, with over twenty works to his credit. His compositions have been performed by numerous ensembles, including the United States Military Academy Band, Indiana Wind Symphony, Angelo State University Symphonic Band and the Ohio State University Concert Band. Three of his works are published, “Early One Morning March”, “Boy Scout Centennial” and “Apollo Anniversary”. In addition, his text entitled “Contemporary Rhythm Drills for Band and Orchestra” was recently published by the Kjos Company of San Diego, Calif. Mruzek
pottinger Colonel Kevin Poitinger (A/S ’89), has his bachelor’s in nursing and is currently the Commander, 86th Aeromedical Squadron at the Ramstein Air Base in Germany. He has participated in the Iraq and Afghan wars and has deployed and flown missions to and from Iraq, Afghanistan, Germany and Kuwait. His notable missions include the evacuation of 39 US Sailors following the attack on the USS Cole, the first casualty movement of Operation IRAQI FREEDOM, and the evacuation of 893 Haitian casualties in Operation UNIFIED RESPONSE. Poitinger has served 23 years of Active Duty Air Force. He is married to fellow Whitmer alum Tammy (Poland) Poitinger (A/S ’90) who also has her bachelor’s in nursing.
**Mark L. Fink, PhD (MEd ’99, PhD ’07), has been appointed the chair of the Nevada System of Higher Education’s E-Learning Task Force. The task force is a state-wide comprehensive team providing Nevada’s Chancellor, Dan Klaich, innovative approaches in the advancement of digital learning for students attending a college or university within the state system. Previously, Fink was the director of e-learning, faculty support and special projects in the Office of the Provost at The University of Toledo. FINK
UPTONcolorPIC Shannon (Kelley) Upton (A/S ’97, Ed ’97) recently published her book “Organizing You”. This book is about finding your spiritual clutter and using organization to clear it out. See more about this book at
Rabbi Scott Aaron (Law ’92), received his PhD in cultural education and policy studies from Loyola University Chicago in May 2013. AARON
Grieco Jennifer Grieco (A/S ’93, Law ’97), has been named a Super Lawyer for the third consecutive year by Neuman Anderson, a Michigan based business law firm specializing in complex commercial litigation. In addition to this prestigious recognition, she has also been honored as a Top 100 Michigan Super Lawyer, a Top 50 Business Lawyer and a Top 25 Women Business Lawyer.

Matthew Freytag (A/S ’97) graduated in the top 15% of his class from the Ohio State College of Dentistry and soon after started working at Walbridge Dental in 2002. OSU College of Dentistry is where he met his wife, Dr. Jody Freytag. She began working at Walbridge Dental in 2003. In 2004, Matt and Jody purchased Walbridge Dental from its owners. They have two young daughters and a new son.

Death Notices

Faculty, staff & friends

Maurice “Mort” Edgington, Ottawa Lake, Mich. at 88, worked at the University for 25 years. He joined UT in 1966 as an instructor in commercial studies. Six years later, he was named assistant professor of business technology and coordinator of transportation and physical distribution technology in the former Community and Technical College. Edgington was named associate professor in 1976 and professor in 1991. He also served as coordinator of retail management technology, as well as transportation management. He retired in 1991.

Shirley H. Ignasiak, Toledo at 80, was a nurse at MCO from 1979 until her retirement in 1991.

Paul R. Reineck, Toledo at 62, was a lab worker at the hospital from 1977 until his retirement in 2012.

Mary L. Binegar, Toledo at 89, worked in MCO’s dietary department from 1976 until her retirement in 1991.

Bonita “Bonnie” C. Heuerman (MEd ’05), Toledo at 67, was a visiting professor of nursing at UT.

Robert L. Kimdell, Toledo at 65, was a boiler engineer at MCO from 1981 to 1992.

Janet S. Schroeder, Toledo at 71, worked as an administrative assistant in the urology department and pain clinic from 1993 until her retirement in 2003.

Frank X. Lauterbur, Toledo at 88, was the UT football coach and athletic director from 1963 to 1970. Lauterbur, who had a 48-32-2 record at UT, began the famous 35-0 Rocket streak from 1969 to 1971. His teams won Mid-American Conference titles in 1967, 1969 and 1970. The 1969 and 1970 teams were nationally ranked in the top 20 of wire service polls and won Tangerine Bowl championships. In both of those seasons and in 1969, Lauterbur was named MAC Coach of the Year and Ohio College Coach of the Year. A total of 55 players recruited by Lauterbur were either first- or second-team All-MAC; four of those players won National All-American honors: Tom Beutler, Curtis Johnson, Chuck Ealey and Mel Long, who are all in the University’s Varsity T Hall of Fame. Lauterbur left UT following the 1970 season to become the head coach at the University of Iowa. He also coached in the NFL with the Baltimore Colts, the Los Angeles Rams and the Seattle Seahawks. He was inducted into the Varsity T Hall of Fame in 1983 and in the MAC Hall of Fame in 1990. While at the University, Lauterbur also served as a board member and later president of the UT Federal Credit Union.


**Lois Horner (A/S ’37), Toledo at 98.

**Adele Pocotte (A/S ’34), Union Pier, Mich. at 97.

Howard Meier (Eng ’38), Mount Pleasant, S.C. at 97.


Margaret “Dick” Grigsby (A/S ’41), Dayton, Ohio at 96.


Jack Wagner (Eng ’57), Toledo at 78.

**Richard Zulch (Ed ’50), Clawson, Mich. at 88.

Mary Jasin (Ed /57, MEd ’73), Lambertville, Mich. at 80.

Kenton Reis (Pharm ’57), Sylvania, Ohio at 84.


Roger D. Rife (Ed ’68, MEd ’72), Apopka, Fla. at 74.

Daniel Roughton (Bus ’64), Saline, Mich. at 71.

William Peters (Ed ’67, Law ’72), Toledo at 72.

Darrell Jennewine (Bus ’68), Taylors, S.C. at 78.

Donald Cherry (Bus ’60), at 79.

*Jerry Wager (Ed ’60), Law Vegas, Nev. at 76.


Ethel Pryor (UTCTC ’72), Toledo at 66.

**Robert Rector (Bus ’71), Toledo at 65.

Max Rayle (Law ’76), Bowling Green, Ohio at 64.

Jane Hamilton (A/S ’78), Little Rock, Ariz. at 87.

Timothy Desmond (A/S ’76), Toledo at 65.

**T. William Troup (MA ’70), Chardon, Ohio at 68.

John Koschmann (Eng ’72), Ravenswood, W. Va. at 68.


Mary Kleeberger (Ed ’89), Maumee, Ohio at 69.

Paula Odom (Univ Coll ’87), Holland, Ohio at 65.

Rose Durant (UTCTC ’89), Toledo at 66.

Brent Karchner (Bus ’82), Toledo at 54.

Brady Bancroft (Eng ’87, MEd ’98), Berkey, Ohio at 66.

Mary Smith (Ed ’87), Northwood, Ohio at 68.

David DiPofi (UTCTC ’85, Eng ’87, MBA ’94), Sylvania, Ohio at 51.

Sheila Mrochinski (Eng ’89, Eng ’90), Savannah, Ga. at 63.


Karen Semersky (A/S ’90), Monclova, Ohio at 46.

Marghretta Smith (MEd ’95), Sylvania, Ohio at 63.

*Dr. Michelle Irons (MED ’92), Toledo at 49.

*Annual Alumni Association Member
**Lifetime Alumni Association Member

Comments are closed.